Come Visit Fun Philippines

Climate in the Philippines

The climate of the Philippines is mainly characterized by its proximity to the sea, for no place is more than 200 km from the coast. The climate of the Philippines can be described as tropical and in the higher regions of the mountains as subtropical. At the Pulag mountain, snow falls occasionally in the cold seasons. The average annual temperature in the Philippines is 26.5 ° C. The effective climate cleatification of the Philippines is characterized in the system developed by Wladimir Peter Köppen as a tropical climate.

Typhoons and tropical storms occur throughout the year in the Philippines, with a clear division of the country. The northern and eastern part of the group of islands is regularly visited by typhoons in the months July to September, which can reach wind speeds of more than 250 km / h (Taifun Haiyan in November 2013) Peak values ​​of 315 km / h). The rest of the island group is haunted by violent tropical storms, some of which are raging heavily over the land masses. The annual precipitation amounts are very different. The lowest precipitation amounts in the region around General Santos with 965 mm and highest in the region around Infanta with 4,064 mm and in the central and eastern parts of the island Luzon. To determine the regional climates, the corona classification was introduced in 1921. This includes four different regional climatic types:

Type I allows the distinction to be made in a rainy season and a dry season. The rainy season is set from May to November, with the strongest precipitation falling from June to September. This includes the regions Ilocos region, the western part of the mountain province, western part of the region Central Luzon and CALABARZON, Metro Manila, Occidental Mindoro, the southern areas of the islands Panay and Negros and the northwest of the island Palawan.

The climatic type II does not have a separation between the dry and the rainy season. Precipitation occurs throughout the year, with the main precipitation period from December to February and the lowest precipitation from March to May. Type II climate is for the Cagayan Valley, the south-western part of CALABARZON, the Polillo archipelago, the Bicol region, the north-east of Samar Island, the southern Leyte, the Caraga and Northeastern Zamboanga peninsulas .

There is no separation between the dry and the rainy season in the Type III climatic type. Precipitation occurs all year, with no main precipitation period, but a low precipitation intensity from December to March or from March to May. This includes the regions of northeastern Luzon, parts of the Cagayan Valley, Bulacan Province, the eastern parts of the CALABARZON region, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Marinduque, the north and north east of Panay Island, Negros Occidental, Siquijor, Zamboanga del Sur Central and southern parts of the island of Mindanao and the Sulu archipelago.

In climatic type IV, there is no separation between dry and rainy season, rainfall falls throughout the year, with rainfall spread evenly throughout the year.